Baked Vegan Donuts and Donut Holes Revisited

Yummy Vegan Baked Donuts

Yummy Vegan Baked Donuts

A couple weeks ago I posted a Yummy Baked Vegan Donuts recipe. Well since then I have been trying to revamp it so that the donuts would come out a tad sweeter and softer. Well I’ve done it! I think this recipe is even better than the first (especially for donut holes) and they even keep longer. Please refer to the recipe above for instructions unless otherwise noted!

Baked Vegan Donuts

2 cups soymilk (I use very vanilla)

1/4 cup canola

1/4 cup agave nectar

2 1/2 tsp yeast

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup applesauce    **Add the applesauce and vanilla during the first flour stage!**

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 Tbsp salt      **Just like the other recipe, the salt is added with the remainder of the flour**

4 3/4 cups & 2 Tbsp flour

Bake at 350 Degrees F for about 10 minutes, if they begin getting light brown sooner then remove them early. Unlike the previous recipe, these donuts come out much more soft and unlike dinner rolls.

The main changes were adding applesauce (for moisture), vanilla and eliminating the baking powder and baking soda. Baking powder and baking soda essentially only work to help the dough rise or “fluff” if baked soon after it is added to the dough. Since I recommend placing the donuts in the fridge overnight, these two ingredients were of little use. However, if you do want to bake immediately, let the dough rise for about 30 minutes. A small adjustment may have to be made for flour, but not a significant one since there is only a total of 1 tsp of baking powder/baking soda in the recipe.

These donuts are great if you are having a large (or small) gathering and want something sweet. These donuts can easily be glazed then left out to dry fully on a serving dish. The donuts actually take on an even greater donut texture when let to sit out for a few hours. The way in which the glaze dries on the donuts and the texture of this new dough makes me remember getting a glazed donut at Dunkin Donuts when I was a kid. They’re delicious! (Mine, not the ewy non-vegan Dunkin Donut ones ;) ) Only problem with these donuts is that they do not keep especially long, just a few days before the dough is no longer soft like we all enjoy (although the same thing happens when you buy a donut and bring it home and don’t eat it for days!). Therefore, if you are not having a large gathering or sharing with family members (aka baking just for you), I would recommend halving the recipe as it does make about 80 donut holes and 12 large donuts!

Hope you enjoy!!!

30 Comments

  1. August 1, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    [...] is an updated donut recipe for anyone interested, available here.** Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Cinnamon Rolls with Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe [...]

  2. August 4, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    [...] forgot to put SUGAR on the ingredients list of the newly changed Vegan Baked Donuts Recipe found here. Sara over at Innocent Primate alerted me to it and I was HORRIFIED! I forgot SUGAR! ME!! I never [...]

  3. August 6, 2008 at 10:49 am

    [...] have to purchase a case again because Nikki over at Vegan Verve has created such a deliciously evil baked vegan doughnut recipe!! I made them last night and baked them this morning, boy oh boy!! I can’t stop eating them!! [...]

  4. soleen said,

    August 20, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    sounds delicious! does anyone know where I can find agave nectar?

  5. August 23, 2008 at 3:31 am

    [...] to spend that much on it.) 46. Stroopwafle 47. Samosas 48. Vegetable Sushi 49. Glazed doughnut (Try my own recipe, they’re awesome!) 50. Seaweed 51. Prickly pear (I think I’ll leave cacti alone.) 52. [...]

  6. Sara said,

    September 9, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Soleen…you can purchase agave nectar online (I like Wild Organics because I can get it bulk, but just about any vegan store online will have it). Also, you can find it in stores like Whole Foods/Wild Oats, Henry’s, Trader Joe’s, etc…

  7. November 3, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    [...] I managed to find a recipe at Vegan Verve. I chose to use her earlier version, since the revised one called for ingredients I didn’t have (namely, applesauce) and required more flour (which I completely used up with my smaller version). But do make sure to check out her revisions. [...]

  8. leslie said,

    April 27, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Awesome!

  9. Donna said,

    June 5, 2009 at 10:47 am

    I’ve found that almond milk makes baked goods come out much lighter and moister than soymilk.

    • veganverve said,

      June 5, 2009 at 2:24 pm

      I’ve never baked with almond milk but thanks for the input! I’ll have to give it a try one of these days.

  10. JC Corcoran said,

    June 6, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Spread Compassion with FREE Vegan Food!

    How many times have you gone to a fundraiser or event that has a compassionate mission, but serves food that promotes violence and environmental degradation? Now, there is a cost-free way to promote compassion for all beings!

    VegFund provides funding to groups and individuals wanting to table at community events and give away free delicious vegan food! Recipients aren’t usually the event organizers, but rather serve vegan food and distribute free educational materials at a booth.

    VegFund covers the cost of all food, serving supplies, literature and booth/table fees for events such as: Rescue/Shelter events, School Events, Farmers Markets, Art Openings, Religious Socials/Events, etc. For more information and an application form visit VegFund.Org.

  11. June 19, 2009 at 7:31 am

    [...] for about 5 minutes to let it become more squeezable again). 5. Fill piping bag and fill cupcakes, donuts, etc. I used a chopstick to poke a hole and shimmy out some space inside the cupcake. But beware [...]

  12. June 27, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    [...] This time the donuts turned out so much better, yes? I used a different recipe that I found at Vegan Verve. Vegan Verve has a few donut recipes posted and I tried the “revised version.” It was a [...]

  13. Melisser said,

    September 18, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Oh snap, these look delicious!

  14. October 19, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Hey! I made these last night!

    I don’t know if I did something wrong, but they were barely edible after baking. I mean, they were edible, but they didn’t taste like any donuts I have ever had or would want to have. I think I may have added too much flour when I was forming the donuts, but the dough was impossibly sticky! However, I fried some of them and they were delicious. I recommend simply frying them if you don’t have a problem with fried foods.

    • veganverve said,

      May 18, 2010 at 2:00 pm

      Sorry to hear you had issues with the donuts. The amount of liquid depends on a lot of circumstances (weather, humidity, altitude etc.) so perhaps the amount in the recipe was slightly more than you needed at the time. Adding extra flour should have been fine, but I am sorry they didn’t turn out well baking them. I haven’t had a problem with them turning out baked and I haven’t tried frying them. But alas, great to hear they fry well! Hopefully if you try baked in the future you will have better success.

  15. Brooke said,

    January 25, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Hi,
    I want to make these using Agave and no Sugar. What amout of flour would I need to use? Is it possible to make these yeast free? Thanks for the yummy recipe.

    • veganverve said,

      January 26, 2010 at 2:16 am

      I have never made these strictly with agave so I cannot say for certain how much flour you would need to add. I would suggest going about the recipe the normal way but adding any necessary flour to get a smooth dough at the end. This amount will vary regardless as moisture will vary with temperature, altitude and moisture outside. As for making these yeast free, I unfortunately cannot help you there. I would assume that it could be done by adding large amounts of b.power and b. soda? That would require some experimentation.

  16. Out of the oven said,

    January 25, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Are you using all purpose flour in your recipe? Do you think using a whole wheat flour would work too?

    • veganverve said,

      January 26, 2010 at 2:11 am

      Yes I am using AP flour in the recipe. I have not yet tried to use whole wheat flour, but if you were to substitute I would recommend using white wheat flour since it is lighter and will allow the dough to rise more easily. I would also recommend adding about 1T wheat gluten per cup of flour if replacing AP with wheat flour. Also, make necessary changes to liquids (how much would vary upon your altitude). Hope this helps!

  17. January 31, 2010 at 12:13 am

    [...] for a baked doughnut recipe that wouldn’t require a doughnut pan. Enter Vegan Verve’s baked vegan doughnuts recipe. The original recipe uses AP flour, but I wanted to try using whole wheat. Vegan Verve recommended [...]

  18. February 22, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    [...] Rather than pout for too long, I decided to try to find a donut recipe online that I could make myself, and came across Nikki’s Baked Vegan Donuts. [...]

  19. laurentoyota said,

    March 26, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    these look awesome… but what kind of yeast are you using? I have dry active yeast? I’ve never used yeast before. Seems scary! But I bought it because I want to attempt some breads, donuts etc.

    • veganverve said,

      May 18, 2010 at 1:48 pm

      Sorry for the delay in responding. I used active dry yeast and it isn’t scary! I used to be intimidated by breads and such as well but once you get the hang of it you’ll be golden. If you’re concerned as to how these will come out, just halve the recipe in order to try the yeast out!

  20. David said,

    April 22, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    A true vegan delite! Thanks for taking the time and sharing this!

  21. Angela said,

    May 10, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Ya know, these tasted great, but they came out the texture and taste of sweet rolls/buns. They didnt really have the texture of a doughnut. Did I do something wrong?

    • veganverve said,

      May 18, 2010 at 1:52 pm

      Hi Angela,

      Did you use the revised recipe or the original post? The revised recipe I found has more of a donut texture/taste than my original. I do agree that my original did come out more like really sweet rolls (good nonetheless but not really a donut). However, the changes I made for this particular post should have made them have all the classic donut tastes and textures. Did you allow them to rise overnight in the fridge or did you skip that step? That helps develop flavor as well. I hope you enjoyed them nonetheless!

  22. May 18, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    [...] 18, 2010 in Uncategorized Check out these FANTASTIC DONUTS! Suffering a Krispy Kreme Kraving, I filled mine with alpro custard – delicious! [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

